Are All Kinds Of Oats Gluten-Free?

start reading

Navigating gluten-free menus and daily meals can be difficult. Grocery shopping usually takes you longer because you need to scan labels.

While you can lump grains with gluten and put them on the "Do Not Eat" list, some are gluten-free. So oats are one of them?

By themselves, oats do not contain gluten. They aren't wheat, barley, rye, or any combination. They're a gluten-free complex carbohydrate, fiber, and protein source.

However, there's a catch. Farmers frequently cultivate oats with other gluten-containing grains. You cannot control the direction of the wind, can you?

It's impossible to be sure there aren't gluten residues on those oats because of the possibility of cross-contamination.

To qualify as "gluten-free," a product must have less than 20 ppm (or 0.002%) of gluten, as mandated by the Food and Drug Administration.

Those trace amounts can pile up and push the seemingly minuscule amount of 0.002% into potentially hazardous territory.

Overall, oats are a gluten-free grain, according to the FDA. Those with a severe gluten allergy, on the other hand, should only consume products bearing the FDA label.

Stay updated with
our new stories!

Click Here